IBMC #10: The Happiness Challenge

on

The last task of the IBMC challenge.

First of all, I’d like to thank the creator for such an incredible challenge. It’s been a great opportunity and I hope I have stayed as per the rules. And a big thanks to all the readers too, who have come this far with me. So, thank you people.

Now that we have the cheesy departing lines behind us, let’s get into the last task IBMC #10: The Happiness Challenge

For this task, I need to complete this sentence:

“Happiness is … ”

And stretch it to approx 500 words.

Okay, here goes:

“Happiness is, well at least according to me, being content with yourself for where you are and having reached that far.”

Since happiness is closely linked with satisfaction, I think as long as you are satisfied with how things turned out, you are going to be happy.

But when are we ever satisfied with how things turned out?

And when does things turn out the way we want them to turn out?

Does that mean we can never be happy just because they don’t turn out the way we predicted?

I remember reading a story once that I now find quite fitting in this post, so I’m going to use it:

There was a man who made a living by selling helium-filled balloons on the roadside. He sold balloons of all different colours: red, blue, yellow, green etc. When sales went down, he would release one balloon into the air, and watching that balloon float, the kids nearby would surround him, asking for their own balloons, increasing his sales. On one such random day, he felt someone tugging at his sleeve from behind. Turning around he saw a little kid standing with a quizzical expression written on his face. When asked what was the matter, the kid asked “Will the balloon float that high as the previous one, if it was painted black?” The man smiled and said “It’s not what it is on the outside, but what it is made up on the inside.”

As in this case helium is personified with attitude, which I find like the most rarest thing ever done in the history of mankind.

Attitude. Something that you are made up of. And the only thing you can keep in check, helping you survive against all odds.

And probably the only thing that can let you remain happy throughout the adversity.

So, the next time you feel like everything you’ve built is tumbling down and being reduced to ruins, don’t bother to change the situation, especially when you have no say in it. But instead try altering your atttude towards it.

And I know, it’s tough when it comes to actually doing it. If you have read some of my previous posts, then you might be aware of my complains about my life in the pre university. Though it’s now easy for me to say that I could have changed the situation by changing my attitude towards it, you think I didn’t actually try doing it while I was in the heat of that situation?  It’s hard and sometimes it’s not possible. But being content for how much you tried is another lesson to stay happy.

And I’m trying.

~°~•~°~

Adios! 💗

Screenshot_20180607-084214

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. iScriblr says:

    Wonderfully penned!❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frothywinter says:

      😊😘
      Thanks for dropping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That was a wonderful story coming along with notes of happiness! Pleasure read.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frothywinter says:

      Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for taking up and completing the IBMC. 🙂
    Congratulations and You can use the final logo.

    I have enjoyed reading all the posts. 🙂 I have updated the challengers list here:
    https://itsphblog.wordpress.com/ibmc/the-challengers/

    Yayy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frothywinter says:

      Thank you so much for this Amazing challenge!! Every task was just great and had such creative prompts!
      I’m glad you enjoyed my posts!
      Hope to come across again!
      Good Day😊☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pleasure is all mine. 🙂

        Thank you and good day to you too.. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment